to the top of the page
background image design


Wheat Commission Nominating Committee to Meet

Posted: Jun 11 2019

Agriculture Commissioner Doug Goehring has called a meeting of a nominating committee to select three persons for consideration as a member-at-large on the North Dakota Wheat Commission.  The Commission is comprised of seven members; six producer-elected from districts and one appointed from the state at large.

The meeting is scheduled for 10:30 a.m., Friday, June 14, 2019, in the ND Department of Agriculture’s 6th floor conference room of the North Dakota Capitol building in Bismarck.

The committee will submit a list of three nominees to Gov. Doug Burgum, who will appoint the member-at-large. Bruce Freitag, Scranton, will have served his maximum three, four year terms expiring June 30, 2019.
Goehring will chair the committee which includes representatives of the North Dakota Farm Bureau, North Dakota Farmers Union, U.S. Durum Growers Association, North Dakota State University Experiment Station, NDSU Extension Service, North Dakota Grain Dealers Association, North Dakota Crop Improvement Association, and North Dakota Grain Growers Association.

Interested producers are encouraged to contact any of the organizations or entities which are part of the nominating committee.

The North Dakota Wheat Commission was established in 1959 to develop, promote and service domestic and international markets for North Dakota wheat.  The Commission is funded by a producer checkoff of one and a half cents per bushel on wheat sold.  The seven commission members develop and oversee implementation of policy and programs and approve budget expenditures.

Stay Informed with our E-Newsletter

copyright © 2020 North Dakota Wheat Commision
designed and programmed by odney