North Dakota Wheat Commision
Wheat Growers

Elections to be held in North East and South Central Districts for NDWC Board Memebers

Break Date: 11/7/2017 8:40:05 AM
Last Edit: 11/7/2017 8:40:05 AM

Elections for county representatives in District 3 (south central ND) and District 6 (northeast ND) will be conducted by NDSU Extension staff during the fall/winter of 2017-18. The county representatives to the North Dakota Wheat Commission (NDWC) serve a four-year term. Responsibilities of the county representatives consist of attending the district election meeting at the end of March to elect a board member, attending the annual meeting (if able), and providing feedback on regional wheat issues to the board as needed.

Terms for the county representative position and the Commission Board member position run from July 1, 2018 - June 30, 2022. County representatives can serve unlimited terms, while Commission Board members are limited to three, four-year terms. The Commission consists of seven producer board members, six of which are producer elected and one appointed by the governor. Current Commissioners representing District 3 and District 6 will have completed the maximum three terms as of June 30, 2018.

The Commission board is responsible for setting the budget and developing policy and programs for research, market development, domestic promotion, domestic policy and trade policy. Board members are expected to actively participate in Commission meetings (minimum of four per year, but usually no more than six), be knowledgeable about the wheat industry, represent the Commission at state and national meetings and serve as a spokesperson for North Dakota wheat producers.

Serving as either a county representative or Commission board member is a great opportunity to become more aware of policies and issues that impact the wheat industry, from the local level to globally. It also provides the opportunity to ensure issues important to you and your local growers are conveyed to other producers. To be eligible for both positions, a producers must actively be engaged growing wheat, have not requested a refund in the last year, and reside in the county of election. For more information on the county representative and Commission Board member positions, contact the NDWC at 701-328-5111, or your county extension agent.

Counties in District 3 consist of: Burleigh, Eddy, Emmons, Foster, Kidder, Logan, McIntosh, McLean, Sheridan, Stutsman, and Wells.

Counties in District 6 consist of: Cavalier, Grand Forks, Nelson, Pembina, and Walsh.

Return to Main Site