North Dakota Wheat Commission dtn events about resources stay
buyers wheat consumers research publications







Wheat Growers
Printer Friendly
Johnsrud and Svenningsen Re-elected to Wheat Commission Board

by ND Wheat

Posted on 3/23/2017

County and district elections for District 2 (northwest ND) and District 5 (southeast ND) are complete and two producers were re-elected to serve four-year terms on the North Dakota Wheat Commission (NDWC) board. Dustin Johnsrud, Epping, was elected to his second term and Greg Svenningsen, Valley City, was elected to his third term. The terms officially begin on July 1, 2017.

The Commission consists of seven producer board members, six of whom are producer elected and one appointed by the governor. Elections are held every four years to elect county representatives in the district and those representatives elect one producer from their respective district to the Commission board position. The Commission board is responsible for setting the budget and developing policy and programs for research, market development, domestic promotion, domestic policy and trade policy.

Johnsrud was elected to his first term in 2013, the same year he was elected as the Williams county representative. He currently serves as the NDWC representative to the U.S. Durum Growers Association and alternate to the ND Ag Rail Council. Johnsrud was also recently a board team member on the U.S. Wheat Associates' South Asia Board Team and sits on the Epping City Council. Johnsrud and his wife Megan produce durum, winter wheat, spring wheat and canola. The couple have three children.

Svenningsen was elected to his first term in 2009 and has served as the Barnes county representative since 2005. Svenningsen is the NDWC representative to the Northern Crops Institute, the Wheat Foods Council and the ND Ag Rail Council. He is also an alternate to the USW Board, serves as chairman of the Dakota Plains Co-op board, and is a member of the North Dakota Farmers Union. He and his wife Marcy, and their son Adam, farm west of Valley City where they produce wheat, corn, soybeans, oats, and alfalfa and have a cow/calf operation. The couple have two married children and five grandchildren.

County representatives elected to terms in 2017 are listed below (incumbents are noted with an asterisk *).

District 2
Burke - Mitch McEvers, Lignite*
Divide - Bruce Verlinde, Noonan*
McKenzie - Ty Rolfsrud, Keene
Mountrail - Aaron Skarsgard, Stanley*
Renville - Delwin Gates, Mohall*
Ward - Aaron Haaland, Carpio*

District 5
Cass - Todd Ellison, Mapleton*
Dickey - Mike Martin, Forbes*
Griggs - Scott Tranby, Cooperstown
LaMoure - John Haro, Verona*
Ransom - Travis Dagman, Enderlin
Richland - Neal Goerger, Mantador*
Sargent - Roger Zetocha, Stirum*
Steele - Scott Huso, Aneta*
Traill - Steve Doeden, Cummings