North Dakota Wheat Commision
Wheat Growers

Producers Elected to Wheat Commission Board in Southwest and North Central Districts

by ND Wheat

Posted on 4/6/2016

County and district elections for the North Dakota Wheat Commission (NDWC) representatives in Districts 1 and 4 are complete and two producers were elected to serve four-year terms on the Commission board. Jim Bahm, New Salem, was elected to his second term on the Commission board and Philip Volk, York, was elected to his first term on the board. Bahm represents District 1, which encompasses 13 counties in the southwest part of the state. Volk will represent District 4, consisting of 7 counties in the North Central part of the state. The terms officially begin on July 1, 2016.

The Commission consists of seven producer board members, six of which are producer elected and one appointed by the governor. Elections are held every four years to elect county representatives in the district and those representatives elect one producer from their respective district to the commission board position. The Commission board is responsible for setting the budget and developing policy and programs for research, market development, domestic promotion, domestic policy and trade policy.

Bahm was elected to his first term on the Commission in 2012, and has served as the Morton county representative since 2004. He currently serves as the NDWC representative to the North Dakota Grain Growers Board, alternate to the North Dakota Ag coalition and is the representative to the North Dakota Ag Foundation. Jim is also Vice Chair of the Morton County Weed Board and Chairman of the Morton County Crop Improvement Association. Jim and his wife, LaBeth, grow hard red spring wheat, barley, flax, corn, oats and sunflowers on their farm near New Salem. They have four children and two grandchildren.

Volk was elected to his first term on the board and has been the Benson county representative since 2000. He graduated from Bismarck State College with a Farm and Ranch Management degree. Volk serves as a township officer and St. Mary's Lector and is a former director of Envision Cooperative and a Rugby FFA alumni. Philip and his wife, Lisa, produce wheat, soybeans, corn and dry beans on their farm near York. They have five children.

County representatives elected to terms in 2016 are listed below (incumbents are noted with an asterisk *).

District 1
Adams - Bruce Hagen, Reeder
Billings - Loren Bock, Belfield*
Bowman - Myles Richard, Bowman
Dunn - William Flaget, Halliday*
Golden Valley - Rick Stoveland, Golva
Grant - Wes Frederick, Flasher*
Hettinger - Keith Witte, Regent
Mercer - Gary Knell, Hazen*
Oliver - Patrick Doll, New Salem*
Sioux - Jamie Heid, Selfridge*
Slope - Farrell Lorge, Amidon
Stark - Lee Gullickson, Taylor

District 4
Bottineau - Lenny Artz, Westhope*
McHenry - David Thom, Granville*
Pierce - Ken Schaan, Rugby*
Ramsey - Matthew Olson, Devils Lake
Rolette - Mark Martinson, Rolette
Towner - Jeff Teubner, Cando*

Return to Main Site