North Dakota Wheat Commission dtn events about resources stay
buyers wheat consumers research publications







Wheat Growers
Printer Friendly
Commissioners Elected in Northwest, Southeast Districts

by ND Wheat

Posted on 5/5/2005

North Dakota Wheat Commission elections for the year 2005 are complete. Every four years wheat producers in each of the commission's six districts have an opportunity to determine who will represent them in shaping the policies and priorities of the checkoff-funded organization that primarily works on export marketing, policy and issues, research, and product promotion initiatives. They begin by electing county representatives who in turn elect district commissioners from amongst themselves. Elections this year were held in the northwest and southeast districts.

Louis Kuster, Stanley, was chosen to serve a second four-year term and Bruce Hagen, Ayr, was elected to replace Maynard Satrom, Oriska, who will retire from the commission on June 30 after serving the maximum three terms.

Kuster was first elected to the NDWC in 2001. He is a member of the U.S. Durum Growers Association, N.D. Grain Growers Association, N.D. Farmers Union, and the Mountrail County Ag Improvement Association. He has recently served in leadership positions with N.D. Farmers for Profitable Agriculture, Dakota Resource Council, the N.D. Trapshooting Association and the parish council for Queen of the Most Holy Rosary Catholic Church, Stanley. He is a graduate of Severson High School in Stanley. Kuster raises durum wheat and sunflowers. He and his wife Jeri Lynn have one grown son.

Hagen has served as the Cass County representative to the NDWC since 2001. He has served on the board of directors for the Cass County Farm Bureau. He earned a marketing degree from the University of North Dakota, has worked as a commodity broker and served as president of a local grain marketing club. He has also served on the board of directors for the Red River Valley Fair, West Fargo, and the council for Trinity Lutheran Church, Ayr. Hagen is a veteran of the Vietnam War having served in the U.S. Marine Corp. He raises wheat, corn and soybeans. He and his wife Denise have two children.

Producers elected to serve as county representatives in the southwest and north central districts are as follows:

Northwest (District II)
*Burke County, Jerome Negaard, Portal
*Divide County, Bruce Verlinde, Noonan
*McKenzie County, Linda Rauser, Keene
*Mountrail County, Louis Kuster, Stanley
Renville County, Del Gates, Mohall
Ward County, Bob Finken, Douglas
*Williams County, Gene Jorgenson, Williston

Southeast (District V)
Barnes County, Greg Svenningsen, Valley City
*Cass County, Bruce Hagen, Ayr
Dickey County, Mike Martin, Forbes
Griggs County, Keven Lunde, Cooperstown
LaMoure County, John Haro, Verona
*Ransom County, Richard Cavett, Enderlin
*Richland County, David Fixen, Wahpeton
*Sargent County, Greg Nelson, Milnor
*Steele County, Tom Klabo, Cooperstown
Traill County, Tim Evans, Mayville

*Asterisks indicate counties those re-elected.

The North Dakota Wheat Commission works to expand worldwide use of North Dakota wheat. Wheat producers finance the effort entirely themselves. The checkoff rate is presently one penny for every bushel of wheat sold. On July 1, the assessment will increase to 1.5 cents per bushel.